Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up
NBCSports Header Logo

Women’s World Cup: Full list of past winners year-by-year

Joe Prince-Wright, Andy Edwards and Nick Mendola debate candidates for the USWNT head coach post after Vlatko Andonovski stepped down following a disappointing 2023 Women's World Cup campaign.

We now know the identity of the first-time World Cup champion to emerge from the 2023 Women’s World Cup, as Spain beat England 1-0 in the final of an engrossing tournament staged in Australia and New Zealand.

For the first time ever the FIFA Women’s World Cup had two host nations, with matches played in both Australia and New Zealand. This year’s tournament was also the first to feature an expanded field of 32 teams, up from the previous number of 24 teams.

MORE: 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup schedule, watch live

The United States has been the most dominant team at the Women’s World Cup, winning four titles in the first eight editions of the tournament (1991, 1999, 2015, 2019). The USWNT has reached at least the semifinals in all eight women’s World Cups (until they crashed out in the last 16 in 2023). Germany won back-to-back titles in 2003 and 2007 and is the only other nation to have won multiple Women’s World Cups.

The USWNT missed the final for the first time in four Women’s World Cups. They beat Japan in the 2015 final and the Netherlands in the 2019 final.

Past Women’s World Cup Winners by Year

1991 – United States

  • Runner up: Norway
  • Third place: Sweden

1995 – Norway

  • Runner up: Germany
  • Third place: United States

1999 – United States

  • Runner up: China
  • Third place: Brazil

2003 – Germany

  • Runner up: Sweden
  • Third place: United States

2007 – Germany

  • Runner up: Brazil
  • Third place: United States

2011 – Japan

  • Runner up: United States
  • Third place: Sweden

2015 – United States

  • Runner up: Japan
  • Third place: England

2019 – United States

  • Runner up: Netherlands
  • Third place: Sweden

2023 – Spain

  • Runner up: England
  • Third place: Sweden

2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup schedule, start time, dates, how to watch live

  • When: July 20 to August 20
  • Location: Australia and New Zealand
  • TV channels en Español: Telemundo, Universo, Peacock
  • Streaming en Español: Peacock (all 64 matches)

Follow along with ProSoccerTalk for the latest news, scores, storylines, and updates surrounding the 2023 World Cup, and be sure to subscribe to NBC Sports on YouTube!